Parish Council Members

The parish consists of two wards, the Village ward and the Hinksey Hill ward, each of which is entitled to elect three councillors.

Hinksey Hill Ward

Three councillors were elected unopposed for the Hinksey Hill ward in May 2019 to serve for four years: Christine Chater, Michael Cochrane and Linda Goodhead.
Christine Chater resigned in November 2022 after serving for ten years and in January 2023 the Council co-opted David Maitland to fill the vacancy.

Village Ward

One councillor was elected unopposed for the Village ward in May 2019 to serve for four years: Patricia Jones.
The Council co-opted Christine Madsen in June 2019 to fill one of the two vacancies and Catherine Powell in September 2019 to fill the other vacancy.
However, Catherine Powell resigned in December 2019 as she was moving to another county and Christine Madsen resigned in May 2020 due to pressure of work.
The Council co-opted Janet Lester in September 2021 to fill one of the vacancies, but she resigned in October 2022.
In December 2022 the Council co-opted Richard Peacock to the older vacancy and Andy Clayton to the newer one.


At its first meeting the new Council elected Michael Cochrane as Chairman and Patricia Jones as Vice-Chair. It re-elected them to those positions at its last annual meeting in May 2022.

New Councillors

South Hinksey Parish Council plays an important role in the community but ultimately can only be as effective as the individuals involved. We rely on volunteer Councillors with an interest in local affairs, a willingness to be a voice for the community, and the desire to affect change for the better.

The role of Parish Councillor includes:

  • Preparing for and participating in monthly Parish Council Meetings (generally held in the Village Hall on the first Monday evening of each month)
  • Setting and managing the annual budget, which covers, amongst other things, maintenance of the verges and woodland; managing the burial ground; employing the Clerk; as well as various one-off special projects
  • Contributing to planning consultations for building works within the Parish
  • Campaigning on issues of importance to Parishioners such as: traffic and speed; road and pavement maintenance; flooding; access over the railway; and
  • Listening out for and acting as a voice for concerns of parishioners.

If interested in joining the Council in future, please contact the Clerk on the contact details below for more information.

Contact details

Clerk – Geoffrey Ferres
c/o 20a Harley Road
07419 991623

Hinksey Hill ward

Michael Cochrane (Chairman)

Linda Goodhead

David Maitland

Village ward

Andy Clayton

Patricia Jones (Vice-Chair)

Richard Peacock